the senses

can you hear my heart?

it skips a beat when it sees you

it momentarily fails

the blood flow pauses

causing me to feel dizzy

 

can you see hope in my eyes?

it used to well-up

it holds on to pain

over the years of hurt and sadness

they brightened when i see you

 

can you hear my sighs?

it used to be sobs

my tongue utters curses and lashing

brought by harshness and trials

now i sing of joy

 

can you taste my lips?

it never felt softness

it was parched of attention

neglected and just taken for granted

it now longs to linger on yours

 

can you feel my touch?

it was lifeless and limp

it cannot hold a grip

but you held on to me

and i never felt safer

Leave a Reply

